Saw It On Pinterest: Ideas that worked

While my library takes a storytime break this month to do school summer reading visits, I thought I’d share a couple of recipes I found on Pinterest that I recently tried. Let me say that I love a messy storytime. I love creating activities where kids can get their hands dirty. I have never shied away from any potentially messy project. Not the cloud dough that ended up crumbled all over the new dark blue carpet in our meeting room. Not the water beads that rolled everywhere and got smushed into said new carpet. Not even the finger painting where I laid butcher paper on the floor and had kids sit on the floor to paint. (Don’t worry; there was a tarp underneath the paper!) I did cringe a little, though, while I watched (we all watched) as if in slow motion a little boy who, after mom cleaned his hands, promptly walked right back over to the butcher paper covered in paint and sat right down in the middle of it. I was sure that mom was never coming back but-whew- she did! Occasionally, parents will look at me like this…….

 tv reactions shocked threes company jaw drop GIF

via Giphy

when I say, “Don’t worry. That’s what vacuums are for!” I ain’t scared of no mess!

Anywho, I needed a new batch of my two favorite sensory concoctions: play dough and slime. We had a dozen canisters of cornstarch and no salt. All I had was rock salt so I used that. I went with my favorite go-to recipe, substituting rock salt for table salt.

dough2

The dough looks like it’s full of gemstones when you start mixing it.

dough3

As you knead it, the rock salt falls out. Don’t do this on a surface you don’t want scuffed.

 

dough4

dough5

It pulls together really well and there still are some rock salt crystals in it which the kids really enjoyed finding.  Next up was this water bead slime recipe.

slime1

This is the consistency and stretchiness you want.

Having made dozens of batches of slime, I can tell you that slime made with Borax holds up longer but slime made with liquid starch is faster and easier to make. I went with fast and easy. Make the slime then dump in some water beads.

slime2

 

slime3

How cool does that look? Don’t you just want to stick your hands in it? Me too.

slime5

The caveat here is that you will want to use this soon after making it. After a week or so it’s done. The extra moisture from the water beads causes the slime to break down and become very, very sticky. Once the water beads are fully plumped they will fall out of the slime and roll everywhere. The shelf life on this is probably a week, unless you go back and add more liquid starch to firm it up.

slime4

 

If you try these, I’d love to hear how it went!

What are your favorite concoctions?

 

 

 

