What I Did in Storytime, Tacos Tacos Tacos!

I’ve been doing this gig for a long time and I’ve done thousands of storytimes. In the beginning I had to write everything down so I knew exactly what I was going to do and in what order. Now, I could do them in sleep, and even if I plan them ahead of time, the finished product is always a little different. Anywho, this means I usually either don’t have a theme or I pick the theme at the last minute. Such was the case with this storytime, centered around the book Dragons Love Tacos. Hey, I love tacos, too! Taco me!

Theme:  Food                      Age:   0-6                      Early Literacy Focus: Talk & Read

Books

Image result for dragons love tacos

Image result for what's an apple book

Image result for groovy joe ice cream & dinosaurs

 

 

 

 

 

This was my first time reading Dragons aloud and despite the fun, interactive feel of the book it felt awkward reading aloud. I shortened it for my group, read with gusto but the kids didn’t seem to get it. Of the three, Groovy Joe had the best response from the crowd.

Songs/Rhymes/Fingerplays

Opening songs: :”Shake My Sillies Out” by the Wiggles and “Clap Your Hands” by They Might Be Giants

Humpty Dumpty

A Ram Sam Sam

The Elevator Song

See You Later Alligator

Activity Stations

A coworker came up with this idea for another storytime so I used it too. Tacos for everyone! These paper tacos look almost good enough to eat!

 

This is a fine motor lacing activity for The Very Hungry Caterpillar, an idea seen here.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Pom pom bean bins. Because beans are fun!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Play on!

 

