Celebrating Picture Book Month

I didn’t mean to step away for several months but in the end it was a good thing because it’s been a whirlwind of changes and transitions. What better time to make a reappearance than Picture Book Month though? Every day this month I’ll be featuring my favorite new and old picture books. You’re never, never too old for picture books!

First up……

25785789

A celebration of storytime from a well-known author and illustrator. I love the darling illustrations and all the references to classic nursery rhymes. With text that prompts listeners to join in on the action this sweet, rhyming picture book is a must for storytime!

23872955

I think this is going to be a hit with kids. It’s funny, illustrations provide a lot for kids to talk about and it has nice ending. It will work with a wide range of ages. Add to your list of read alouds!

28818291

I’ll admit I’m not sure who this is for. It’s a little too abstract for younger storytimers and the art is different for a picture book, reminiscent of early Picasso. That being said it’s actually a sweet book that I’d put in the Oh the Places You’ll Go category. Works as much for adults as kids and would be a good book to share one on one with a child.

 

Happy reading!

 

