Best of March Reading Roundup

I’ve been in a mood where I want to read everything I see. If only there was time to do that. One of these days I’m going to take a reading vacation. Just me, some beach, a stack of books and a big mango daiquiri! In the meantime, a few standouts I came across this month.

This book is super cute with its thick-lined pastel illustrations. It’s about a little chick who tries to convince her egg friend to hatch listing all the fun things they can do once he does. He’s got an excuse for everything and repeatedly declares, “I’m not hatching.” The excuses are funny and the reader may be a little surprised at what finally gets him to hatch. Can’t wait to read this one at stortyime!

Susan Gal’s illustrations perfectly capture the wild and wonderful beauty of spring. With flaps that open to reveal spring’s hidden surprises to the ‘magic’ words on each spread this is lovely read aloud title for anytime of the year. I just did it in storytime this week and kids and adults were transfixed by it.

 

I don’t know why cows are funnier than other animals; they just are. This title is about a cow with a dream, a dream of flying. What else do you need to know? From beginning to end this is a good story with a great message of staying curious and discovering the possibilities.

 

I know this book came out a long time ago but it was new to me. Actually, I’d tried reading the book a long time ago and just couldn’t get into it. A friend recommended the audio book. Oh. My. God. So much funny. I’m sure people that saw me driving thought I was crazy as I doubled over the steering wheel laughing hysterically to myself! All the parts about him in France and the bit about explaining Easter to the Muslim classmate, worth listening to just for that. Seriously. Listened to some parts several times because I couldn’t get enough! His odd, deadpan voice is the perfect vehicle for his dry, sarcastic humor. It does get a little dark at times when he’s talking about his struggle with drug addiction. But if you can overlook that and you’re the kind of person who appreciates a dark, sarcastic wit, you will love this.

 

I read tried reading Eat, Pray, Love. It seemed like another book about bored, white, suburban life and I’d already read enough of those. So I was really surprised when I saw her Ted Talk on creativity and loved it. If you haven’t seen it, you should watch it. I’d heard good things about this title and decided to give her another try. So glad I did because this book is AMAZING. I’m not finished yet but so far it’s funny, insightful and inspiring. She has a fresh perspective on inspiration and working through fear which I found to be helpful. If you liked Eat, Pray Love you should read this. If you liked her Ted Talk, you should read this. Just go ahead and put it on the to-read list. You can thank me later. 😉

What were your favorites this month?

 

 

 

