Monday Musings…..

I recently had the pleasure of training Head Start teachers on how to use books more effectively in their classrooms through props, storytelling, dialogic reading and music. I got to introduce them to great new readalouds. I was surprised to see that a lot of this was new to them. It was a fun training and the feedback was positive. It made me wonder though how well they could be preparing kids for school when they don’t even know how to readaloud.

CAM02528

 

CAM02534-1

relaxing in between sessions

 

Always around this time of year I find myself in a storytime slump. I can’t find any new books to read, all activities seem lame, I don’t like any of the songs on my storytime playlist. Usually, I power through this slump by doing all new things and seeing how they work out. Does this happen to anyone else? What do you do about it?

I’ve become a fan of subscription boxes lately. It’s a great way to discover new products. LipMonthly is one of my favorites. I’ve been looking for a new box to try and these book-related boxes look pretty good. Has anyone tried one before what are your thoughts?

 

Follow Comment Share PinTweet!

